Tuesday! Reading!

SGF Reading

Reading Update: It is Tuesday, February 18, and as of today I have read 15 books toward my goal of 52. Yesterday was a holiday, and I didn’t think about doing my WAYRWWWAYR post, so here you go, one day late.

Since last Monday, I’ve read one baby-book-with-a-plot (I Love You, Every Little Bit) and one grown up book (Kiss the Dead).

762948 15810908

I’m not sure I could have picked two more different books to put side-by-side there. I Love You, Every Little Bit is a rhyming baby book with cute animal pictures. Each page contains a couplet describing the parent’s love for his/her baby. It’s very sweet.

Kiss the Dead is book #21 in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series. I am left with several questions after reading this book. The first is, can they change the name of the series? Anita hasn’t really been a vampire hunter for several books. Second: Does the author even have an editor anymore, or does she just send her drafts directly to the printer? Entire swaths of plot, dialogue, and exposition are repeated, sometimes word-for-word, and characters sometimes change names mid-paragraph. Third: What is it about these books that I like so much? Because I have to confess that I love the Anita Blake books the way you love a favorite old sweatshirt or your most cherished comfort food. I can snuggle right into one even though I know how dreadful they are — in fact, I can even re-read them, again and again, despite their awfulness. The thing is, they used to be pretty awesome. But then the author decided to use the series as a vehicle for her multi-volume treatise on sexual exploration, and since then, all bets have been off. This most recent book had about twenty pages of the old action-based plot that originally made me fall for the series. Within the thin frame of that plot, there were conversations that seemed to stretch for hundreds of pages about the nature of romantic love and of policework, followed by back-to-back rough sex scenes relentlessly filling pretty much every page of the second half of the book. I just don’t even know any more. Of course, this brings me to question #4: When does book 22 come out in paperback? Because understand it or not, ashamed or not, I know I have to read it………

Currently Reading: I’m currently reading Orange is the New Black and need to wedge Zombie Baseball Beatdown in there soon.

Looking Ahead: Right now, all I really want to look at is the inside of my eyelids. Lots of books I’d like to read, I’m sure, but I’m too tired to think of any of them at this moment.

One thought on “Tuesday! Reading!

  1. I’m still grinding through “Game of Thrones” for the second time. I love these books, but dang, they are long. I haven’t had that much time to read lately because of my busy TV-watching schedule.

    I have only read one Anita Blake book, and I just wasn’t grabbed by it. I enjoy the occasional smut and definitely like the paranormal urban fiction stuff, but I couldn’t find anything to get excited about. Sorry. I do like The Hollows series by Kim Harrison. I actually quit reading the Sookie Stackhouse series about three books shy of the conclusion for the reasons you listed as problems with Anita Blake. The editing went all to hell, and it was just the same old crap over and over. Charlaine Harris had a GREAT series going with her Harper Connelly mysteries, but she ended that after only 3 or 4 books because Sookie was going great guns. It’s a shame, because Harper was a far more interesting character. If you haven’t read that series, I recommend it a lot.

Leave a Reply

