It’s Monday; What Are You Reading?

I wish I were reading the inside of my eyelids….

I am hypothetically reading Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale, although it has been a few days since I looked at it. I am very much in an “adult paranormal romance” mood without anything in that genre that I actually want to read, at least not at hand, so all of the middle-level books that I ought to be reading (because I need to be more familiar with our school’s collection) are kind of stagnating. That, and I have the world’s most adorable and exhausting seven-month-old. So yeah. Reading. Ha ha.

Palace of Stone is the sequel to Princess Academy, which I rather liked. PoS (ooo, unfortunately initials) is pretty good, too, but feels a bit like something too big has been thrown into something too small. It is suffering, I find, from my having recently read The Selection and The Elite, which deal with similar issues in a more sophisticated way. Which is patently unfair of me, given that they are appropriately written for different audiences (middle grade versus YA) with different levels of sophistication.

I’ve got a big stack of YA/middle grade books at home, waiting for me to read them:

It’s been well over a month (how is that possible?!?!) since I’ve done one of these, so I need up update with my extremely meager recent reading. I’ve read two very good picture books, The Dark by Lemony Snicket, and Little Red Writing by Joan Holub. I’ve also read two graphic novels (Zebrafish and the recommendable adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children) and the exquisite The Ocean at the End of the Lane. And a far amount of junk online.

I’m eyeing a few new YA books coming into my library (Throne of Glass, Etiquette & Espionage and its sequel Curtsies & ConspiraciesFangirl) as well….

One thought on “It’s Monday; What Are You Reading?

  1. I love these posts. We have so much reading in common! Drop everything right now and read “Eleanor and Park” by Rainbow Rowell, and get it in your school library. I felt like crying on every single page because it was very triggering of much of my junior high and high school experience. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, which is surprising. It’s sort of an adult’s homage to that time and a way of saying, “I do remember.”

    I’m now reading one on my Kindle called “Timebound,” which is a time-traveling YA adventure. I find the characters a little too credulous to really love it, but it’s got a good pace.

Leave a Reply

