It’s Monday! (Er, Tuesday!) What Are You Reading?


Reading Update

Today is October 22. It is Tuesday, not Monday. Oops.

This year so far, I’ve read 59 books. I still haven’t adjusted my book-a-week goal and may not; I may just keep reading and see where I end up. It’s not as if I really need any motivation to read a lot right now; I’m desperate to dive into my ever-growing pool of to-read books!

Currently Reading

I’m actually not currently reading anything, because I just finished this book:


The Astronauts Wives Club is nonfiction and tells the little-known story of what it was like to be married to astronauts during the 1960s. It is arguably not very well-written (there are too many women and too many unconnected anecdotes thrown in toward the end, like an unorganized box of snapshots) but I found it fascinating. I’m a fan of things about history that most people don’t think about, especially when it is written very accessibly, as I rarely have mental energy these days to really work at a book. I don’t suppose I was surprised to find the astronauts depicted as pretty childish.

Next on my docket are some titles from our school library: The One and Only IvanCounting by 7s, The Misfits, Zebrafish, and As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth. I’m also toting around a copy of For Us Surrender is Out of the Question: A Story from Burma’s Never-Ending War that I’d like to read if my brain cells ever get lined back up. We have some students who are refugees from Burma (Myanmar) by way of Thailand, and I would like to know more about what’s going on in that part of the world. I think I’m going to start with Ivan; it looks like a fast read.
To Read
2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! (Er, Tuesday!) What Are You Reading?

  1. I had the same thoughts about Astronaut Wives Club–I thought the topic itself was so interesting, but I was disappointed in the quality of the writing. I found myself wondering “Who edited this???” more than once!

  2. “The One and Only Ivan” was very sad, I thought. Good, but sad. I recently read “Zebrafish” to Junior Vox and she enjoyed it. It was pretty accessible to her.

    I’m currently reading, “Whatever You Do, Don’t Run” by Peter Allison. He is a safari guide in Botswana, and the book is a bunch of stupid tourist stories mixed in with his own self-induced mishaps. It’s fun. I read a chapter yesterday about the transition of Botswana from a British colony to its own democracy, and it was fascinating, partly due to the love story of Seretse Khama, the native heir to the country, and his white wife. They were married in the late 1940s, which rocked the British kingdom, especially because Apartheid was really getitng underway in nearby South Africa. Fascinating stuff!

Leave a Reply

