It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Reading Update

Today is September 23, 2013. This year so far, I have read 53 books toward my initial goal of 52 for 2013 — hooray! Guess I get to bump that goal now, although to what, I’m not sure. There are three months left in the year, and I’m reading a lot of middle-level lit. Also, I’m not counting books read to my kiddo at this point, as I kind of figure anything made out of heavy-duty cardboard probably shouldn’t count for adult reading… 😉

Currently Reading

The Elite by Kiera Cass The 5th Wave alcatraz Guns, Germs and Steel

So, remember what I had posted last time (two weeks ago)? Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener’s Bones and The 5th Wave?

Yeah, about that.

I’m at about the same place in those two books as I was when I posted two weeks ago. I guess they just haven’t really caught my attention. But I wouldn’t yet categorize them as abandoned, so there’s hope yet!

Currently, I’m reading The Elite by Kiera Cass. It’s the sequel to The Selection and is a yummy, lightweight little fairy tale. Nothing to keep you up at night, nothing to argue about at book club — just a good, entertaining, fun read. It’s probably best categorized as (buckle your seatbelts) YA dystopian chick lit.

I recently finished reading Fortunately, the Milk, which was wonderful, and I really want to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane, but it’s awfully expensive and I haven’t gotten around to hunting down a used copy yet. Maybe after payday.

I’m also listening to Guns, Germs, and Steel on the parts of my commute during which I’m actually awake enough to listen to an audio book.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I like the updates about what you are reading. What is your opinion about reading books on an ipad/kindle vs a good old fashion paperback or hardback book?

      • Well, I’ve not yet played around with eBooks. The extent of my experience there is that I read most of a book on my iPhone once, and didn’t much care for it, and tried to read another book on my laptop, and hated it. I think a dedicated reader like a Nook or Kindle might be pretty nice. Honestly, I think however a person likes to read is great! I’m personally a “paper and ink” gal so I’m all about killing the trees. 🙂

  2. I’m at 51 right now, but you have been doing it with a newborn in the house, so I think you’re a faster reader than me for sure! I am reading “Life After Life” right now, which is good but a little depressing. I like my fluff.

    To weigh in on the e-Reader question, I have had a Kindle fire for about 2 years now, and I adore it. The reading experience is not especially different for me between a book and the Kindle. The size of the reader approximates a book, and one of my very favorite things about it is its portability. You know those days where you are just about to finish a book, and you don’t want to be stuck for the rest of the day without something to read once you’ve finished, so you have to take two books with you? This gets rid of that issue, and it REALLY shines when you’re on vacation. It’s nice to not have to pack 8 different books in your suitcase.

    • when I was a kid and had to spend my summers in Wisconsin, I used to have one huge suitcase that was packed to the gills with hardcovers, and it was always over the weight limit so we’d have to pay extra. And I would still get to spend half the summer at the library after they were finished.

      I also love the instant gratification of being able to download a book when I need it. I was on my way back from Boise to Philadelphia a few years ago and one of my flights was delayed by a number of hours that were obnoxious-but-unremembered. I was without a paperback, it was late enough that the bookstores were closed, so I hopped onto Amazon from my phone and downloaded a “six-pack” of the first 6 Sookie Stackhouse books.

      I am also never without The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy 🙂

      My only beef is that I would like a way to be able to obtain legitimate digital copies of books that I already own physical copies of, but I can’t really think of a way to pull that off that wouldn’t be incredibly easy to to abuse.

Leave a Reply

