It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

I found this meme on The Librarian Who Doesn’t Say Shhh! and thought I’d give it a go.

Reading Update

Today is September 9, 2013. This year so far, I have read 50 books toward my initial goal of 52 for 2013; I thought sure I wouldn’t have any time for reading what with having a baby, but it looks like I’m going to be able to bump that goal back up closer to my usual 100-ish books.

Currently Reading

alcatraz The 5th Wave hotel

Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener’s Bones is the book I’ve been carrying around in my purse up until today. I enjoyed the first book in the series (in an “I would have really liked this when I was eleven” sort of way) but haven’t really gotten into the second book. I can’t resist the concept of evil librarians secretly running the world, though!

I’ve got The 5th Wave next to my bed and, by the time I actually reach my bed of an evening, occasionally have the energy to read a page or two. It’s a new book for our library collection and I thought I’d give it a whirl before releasing it into circulation, but I’m not very far into it yet. So far, it is reminding me of other post-apocalyptic stories like The Road and I Am Legend.

The September book for my book club is The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I was feeling underwhelmed about spending money on books for myself this week, and I’ve got new Phenomenal Cosmic Library Powers, so I put in an inter-library loan request to my old high school (yes, I now work for the same district from which I graduated) for their copy. I’ve just barely started it, but it has already replaced Alcatraz as my carry-around book. I think I may just be hungry for an adult literary voice after chowing down on so much middle level lit!

I’m also reading a lot of book catalogs, etc., and ought to be reading more of my homework textbooks… bleh…

One thought on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | Did You Have Juice?

Leave a Reply

