Happy Birthday

Today would have been my Grammy’s 96th birthday, which is hard to fathom. I wonder what she would think of our world and our lives if she could sit down with me today for a cup of coffee. I am sometimes very sure that she is still in some way here, paying attention; other times, I don’t know if that could be the case. Maybe it’s just that she was such a strong, important part of my life that her presence is an indelible mark on my consciousness. She is deeply missed.

Today’s sermon was about music and harmony and how sometimes music says things or means things that can’t be quite expressed in words. I guess I don’t really know what Grammy’s favorite music really was, but I know that there are some songs that are imprinted on my memory as being connected to her. When I was little, I would sometimes call her and sing this to her…

I Just Called to Say I Love You

She had this little case of audio tapes, shaped like a tiny jukebox, and there were two songs in particular that I remember singing along to in her car.

Detour

Tennessee Waltz

(YouTube isn’t wanting to embed for some reason — sorry. They’re worth a listen. I hope you’ll click through.)

Happy birthday, Grammy. Love you.

Grammy holding me, 31 years ago.

One thought on “Happy Birthday

Leave a Reply

