Master Bedroom

Slowly but surely I am making the house pretty. It’s hard because I have no time and because I struggle with indecisiveness when it comes to hanging pictures… which is stupid, because it’s not as through I’m tearing down walls, it’s just a nail for Pete’s sake, but I still suck at it.

Anyway, I recently put together a couple of things and thought I’d show them off. These pics are lousy because I took them at 9:30 at night, and the lighting was atrocious, but there you have it.

Below is the “sitting nook” in the master bedroom. You already know the story of the blue armchairs; the little glass sculptures (actually candleholders!) were a thrift store find, and Mom found the lamp on clearance at Target. The marble side table was made by Ryan’s grandfather.

The painting on the wall is “Master Bedroom” by Andrew Wyeth. In 2006 I went to Atlanta alone to present a paper at the annual international convention for the Society for Ethnomusicology. I spent a free afternoon at the High Museum of Art and stumbled upon the brand new Andrew Wyeth: Memory and Magic exhibit, where – perhaps feeling a bit lonely and homesick – I found and fell in love with “Master Bedroom.” Five years later, I found a print at Hobby Lobby 50% off and brought it home with me.

Last weekend, I went to IKEA for the first time, and we bought some lamps for the bedroom. (I am officially entirely in love with their lighting section!) We wanted something tall to add some height to the bed, which has a very low headboard, and we wanted something with nice clear light for reading. These HOLMÖ lamps are technically floor lamps, but we put them on our nightstands (which are technically dorm room ottomans from Target, but who’s counting?) to add height.

Both of the blankets at the foot of the bed are from IKEA. We got the pictures from TJ Maxx on our anniversary; I should probably get a close-up of those. They’re super cute.

One of my first goals with my new sewing machine (wait! I haven’t told you about my sewing machine!) is to make some non-white pillow shams, and maybe eventually graduate to some curtains… although with the cost of fabric, it’d probably be cheaper just to buy a couple of panels… It’s tough, because I don’t want to do a lot of messing with the walls (i.e., installing curtain rods) in a rental. Then again, we’re hoping to be here for several years, so maybe it’s okay.

Not sure whether to be amused or annoyed… take a look at that second picture. Right before I took it, Paisley had stampeded across the bed and jumped off. I’d re-posed her, taken the picture, uploaded it, and shared on Facebook before I noticed the trail of indented footprints across the bedspread. STOP MESSING UP MY BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS PHOTO SHOOTS, PAISLEY. Also, this picture was supposed to have both critters in it, but d’Artagnan decided that the camera strap was his mortal enemy and hid under the bed. So I guess, in a manner of speaking, he’s kind of in the picture… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Master Bedroom

  1. All your decorationg/organizing/bargain hunting ideas are making me so impatient for our own home. We are so close to being ready to get into a house and make it ours.

    Sometimes, I wander the aisles at Ross or Tuesday Morning and look at pots and pans and kitchen canisters and dream.

    Then, I realized how incredibly old and lame that makes me and I go pick up a hooker. I mean, go home and knit.

Leave a Reply

