At the Beach This Morning

I want to read more poetry, so I look around online and find some websites that deliver a daily poem to your eyes, and I decide I’ll read some of those, and if they strike my fancy I’ll share them with you…

Today’s, I liked because I could see it…below, an excerpt from Philip Schultz’s “At the Beach This Morning.”

There we were, Penelope,
my Border Collie mix, and I,
one godless the other faithful,
observing the fiery orange
at the left side of the horizon,
no bigger than my thumb, say,
shy in profile, exhausting another
of its ration of daybreaks….

Read the rest, and witness a memorable oceanside sunrise, at Poetry Daily.

Leave a Reply

