Bedside Table

I have the sneaking suspicion that my book-related posts do nothing but bore people to tears, but I like books, so I’m a-gonna write about books. Actually, I’m super boring, so what I’m going to do is share the titles on my ever-growing “to-read” shelf on my bedside table. Two qualifiers to that statement: 1) It’s a bookcase, not a bedside table, and 2) I only wish the shelf grew, that would make life MUCH easier.

So here you go – the books I haven’t read yet but would like to read before I let myself buy any more books (ha ha). Have you read any of these? Are any of them not worth my time? Which do you think I ought to read next?

Buffalo Lockjaw by Greg Ames

Vinegar Hill by A. Manette Ansay

The Anthologist by Nicholson Baker

Midwives by Chris Bohjalia

The Meaning of Mary Magdalene: Discovering the Woman at the Heart of Christianity by Cynthia Bourgeault

The Inheritor by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Turn Coat by Jim Butcher

The Gates by John Connolly

The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant

Lost Scriptures: Books that Did Not Make It into the New Testament by Bart D. Ehrman

The Chalice and the Blade by Riane Eisler

Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safram Foer

Bury Me Standing: The Gypsies and Their Journey by Isabel Fonseca

Happy Are the Meek by Andrew M. Greeley

A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Tinkers by Paul Harding

The Girl with No Shadow by Joanne Harris

Hummingbird House by Patricia Henley

Misogyny by Jack Holland

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

Velva Jean Learns to Drive by Jennifer Niven

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Idlewild by Nick Sagan

When God Was a Woman by Merlin Stone

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski

6 thoughts on “Bedside Table

  1. The only one I have read is The Chronicles of Narnia. I have read some of Pratchett’s stuff before, and he is kind of fun and Piers Anthony-esque, so you would probably enjoy him.

    Sorry, but that is all the help I can give you.

    • I’m deeply embarrassed to admit that I never read the entire Narnia series. I LOVED and have been very inspired by The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and I’ve read one of the others, too – probably Magician’s Nephew? It’s been forever – but I never went on. I’ve got the one-volume anthology sitting there waiting for me with baleful eyes…

      I think you’d quite like Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series. I LOVE them. The protagonist is the sort of character who seems so real that you forget he’s not your friend. They’re hilarious, smart, and engrossing urban fantasies.

  2. Okay, I have read three on this list…The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski which I loved because of the dogs and the setting. The story was typical, but I still enjoyed it. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen was my favorite book of 2008. I read it, gave it to my dad to read, who then passed it around. It is now in my classroom being read all the time; it is one of those that kids wait in line for. The Birth of Venus was one of the books that started my semester novel project. I read that, then read The Rule of Four and knew the answer because of The Birth of Venus. This made me realize that all books had something in common. Needless to say,this book made me a Dunant fan. Good luck!

  3. Definitely The Gates. It’s funny, it’s a fast read, it reminds me of Christopher Moore, who is funny.
    I hate hate hated Chris Bohjalian’s book Before You Know Kindness — poorly written, maybe Midwives is better, but I would have to be crashed on a desert island with only his books to read them, and he’s lucky. If I got stuck with a crate of Nicholas Sparks, I’d set them on fire. Um, it might be sacrilege, but I don’t think you really need to read more than Prince Caspian and maybe the Voyage of the Dawn Treader if you liked P.C.
    And then you should read every Terry Pratchett book, although The Colour of Magic isn’t my favorite. I like The Thief of Time and The Truth and the Wee Free Men better.
    Good luck choosing!

  4. I don’t think you’re boring at all! Besides, I love books and I’m glad that you’re always pointing out new novels to read.

  5. I’ve read “Water for Elephants” (loved it), “Midwives” (really enjoyed it–very interesting premise, like most of Bohjalian’s stuff), “Chronicles of Narnia” (weird religious vibes, but highly readable) and “The Birth of Venus” (okay, very readable in a commercially accessible way).

    You might look up “Girl in Translation” by Jean Kwok. I read it recently and adored it.

Leave a Reply

