Guess I Ought to Post Something

I’m glad it’s a three-day weekend. This time of year is tough – maybe for everybody, probably for all teachers, but definitely for me. Apparently for my blog, too – two posts in 17 days? Pretty sad. But I’ve had other things on my mind.

My empathy circuits are overloading with pain for my “wolf sister” Jessica, who comments here pretty frequently. Her mom passed away early this morning after a two-year battle with breast cancer. It’s been a really tough couple of months for her, and while I’m sure numbness carries the day today, it’s going to be a rough road for months to come. I just wish that the sorrow I feel could in some way ease the pain she feels, but it doesn’t work like that. Grief is like love; it doesn’t diminish if you spread it around. Unfortunately.

Mostly I just can’t imagine losing my mom.

I don’t know why, but I’ve become undemonstrative in my so-called adultness. I don’t hug or say “I love you” when I feel it. Where did this reserved-ness come from, and what purpose does it serve except to run up a debt of regret that I’ll eventually have to pay?

I can’t find the book I want to read next. It’s lost somewhere. I want to post more book reviews. Maybe I’ll go back and do a few later today. I probably ought to eat some lunch, though. Stomach’s burning.

Speaking of books… I’ve started the “2011 Books” page and moved all of the 2010 books to the “What I’ve Been Reading” mega-list. I’ve added a “Notable Books” page with my top picks of each year and, like I said earlier, plan to add some more to the “Book Reviews” listing. This blog is, after all, the mutated remains of a book blog; as long as I’m reading a lot, I might as well go back to DYHJ’s blogging roots.

One thought on “Guess I Ought to Post Something

  1. Glad to have you back. Things have been a bit quiet around here lately, and I was starting to wonder if you found 38 very engaging books to read that have been occupying your time.

    I’ll be happy to look through your book list. I am getting down to the end of my list, and am interested in getting into some new books/series. I’ll see if I can’t find 40 or 50 from your list that pique my interest.

    I recently read a good novel that I’ll be posting about on my blog shortly. It isn’t the normal kind of stuff that I read, but it is written very well, and it was one of those book that made me laugh out loud at times. Not very many books can do that for me. Maybe it is my undemonstrative adultness coming out in me as well.

    As hard as things are for Jessica, I am betting that the real struggle will come in the next few months. After the busyness of the funeral arrangements and family go away, you have to find your own way to fill that void that once was there. To get through it, here are a few songs about life moving on that I like: Stop this Train by John Mayer and The World Spins Madly On by the Weepies. Take a listen, and see if they wouldn’t be appropriate to help out in the grieving process. They might not be Jessica’s cup of tea, but it is the best I’ve got at this point, having never met her.

Leave a Reply

