Writing

Well.

I’ve caught something akin to a second wind, now that I’ve reverted back to Wyrd and said to heck with the whole “following the letters of the NaNo law” thing. I guess I’m just born to be a NaNo Rebel. Not to mention the fact that a little motivation goes a long way. I’m writing for Jessica this month. (John, I hope you’re still reading and commenting, but Jessica needs it more than you do this month, so she gets this month’s dedication. :)) I think, to be completely honest, I’d lost some of my motivation to finish Wyrd after my third Beta Reader just totally (apparently) lost interest and never read the last several chapters. 😦 But I’m putting on my big girl panties and taking him at his word that he didn’t mean it, and I’m going to get Margo’s story told, come hell, high water, or midterms!

I’m struggling with something stupid, though – something utterly antithetical to the whole NaNoWriMo concept. It’s bugging me that what I’m writing is so sloppy. I’m a little embarrassed to be posting it, even for my infinitely patient and loyal Beta Readers.

I can overcome that. Goodness knows I did last year, and had I not, I’d be 50k words down on the total manuscript.

My biggest problem today is that I’ve got most of chapter 45 written – maybe all of it and part of 46 – but it’s wrong. As it turns out, I don’t really know how to write the scene that I want. I’m not sure what it looks like. So I’ve got about 2,000 words of perfectly serviceable story, none of which fits correctly into what I want to have happened.

Gah.

Anyway, right NOW I’m grading my butt off (literally; this chair is killing me) but if I can get done before I collapse of exhaustion I’ll try to rework things so that they’re not too off track to share….

2 thoughts on “Writing

  1. I am 100% fine with allowing Jessica a dedication. I have never been one to crave the limelight—in fact, I prefer to be a behind-the-scenes guy whenever possible.

    And I also sympathize with your dilemma. After attempting to start to write some things, I find the scene difficult. Part of this block is because I don’t know where I want to go with the scene. I am a meticulous planner when it comes to stories. If I am reading a book, I like to think through all the eventualities and really get into the brains of the characters. I like to see the motivation behind their decisions, and I like it to be consistent. If it isn’t consistent, there better be a good reason…

    As you might imagine with me and writing, I am even worse. I want all my text to be complete. I want the reader to have the best experience with my the words I choose. I want the words to melt into the background and fill the reader’s mind with images, emotions, and cultural memories much deeper than myself. I want what I write to mean something.

    But then I realize that I am writing a draft.

    I am still a faithful beta reader. I am overjoyed that you are taking the time to tell Margo’s story, and am interested to learn fragments of Elise’s story. I don’t have enough of her yet to know what to make of her, so I am looking for more opportunities to people watch.

    If it would make you feel better, give me the opportunity to take a peek outside of the website through email. Who knows, I might be able to help. 🙂

  2. I appreciate the dedication, but honestly, I just want you to get the thing WRITTEN. This book’s been trying to claw its way out of your head for a while now – might as well be done with it and move on, yesh?

Leave a Reply

