Genetic Aesthetics

On May 13, 1945, my Grammy sent this photograph of herself to her mom:

 GrammyPortrait GrammyPortrait-Back

I’ve never really thought that I looked a whole lot like Grammy. I know that my physical appearance comes more from the Stringer/Brokaw side of my gene pool than from the Hoffman side – Meredith got those genes. But I’d never really looked at any photo of Grammy, or of any other relatively other than my Mom, and thought, “Hey, I look like that person.” Maybe Mom’s cousin Rebecca, a little bit… but not really Grammy.

Then Mom pulled out the picture seen above, and one of my senior photos.

KatePortrait

I think we were all a little bit surprised. I spent a little time on Photoshop and, after discovering that it’s virtually impossible for this user to apply digital lipstick, made a comparison:

 GrammyPortrait KatePortrait antiqued

Could be much better; I didn’t let myself spend too much time on it. Still – I think the comparison is a little bit startling!

Perhaps the best part of all of this is that Grammy would have been 29 when this picture was taken. I’m having fantasies of making a hair appointment and a photography studio appointment sometime this summer, and trying to recreate the photo before I turn 30. The only problem, I think, is that I’ve gained about forty pounds since that picture was taken, so I’m not sure I still look that much like my teensy Grammy. That, and the whole “exactly how much money do you want to spend on a photograph?” question. And the “my hair is easily twice as long as hers and I’m in no mood to cut it off” thing.

Dunno. It’s fun to think about, anyway.

3 thoughts on “Genetic Aesthetics

  1. It is TOTALLY possible to hide long hair in a hairdo that elaborate, just FYI

    heaven knows I didn’t cut mine for my nifty flapper bob at NYE!

  2. I agree about hiding our long hair. A photo session is a must. Then you will have a match to Ryan’s b&w picture like his grandpa’s. Let’s do some research and get this accomplished.

  3. I agree about hiding your long hair. A photo session is a must. Then you will have a match to Ryan’s b&w picture like his grandpa’s. Let’s do some research and get this accomplished.

Leave a Reply

