Not Quite a Chocolate Bunny, But…

By way of an Easter present to my three devoted readers, I’ve resurrected Wyrd.

Was that in poor taste? Woke up at 5:30 this morning after a full week of sleeping in, so I claim no responsibility for tasteless jokes. Anyway, chapter 36 is here. I would have had it up earlier, but decided to start over. (Hey, it’s not November, I can have an Inner Editor if I want to.)

If you’re new to Wyrd, there’s still plenty of time to get caught up. Go here and start at the very beginning (it’s a very good place to start). You’ll need a password, and to get it you’ll need to provide me with your email address or private-message me on FB. The password is my weak attempt to prevent baddies from stealing my work, because, y’know, there’s a huge market for pilfered first drafts of fantasy novels.

When we last left our heroine, she was in immediate danger of death through drowning, at the hands of the villainous (and somewhat slimy) Salamandar Man. Her only hope were her two comrades who were frantically trying to save her, but could they beat the clock and the rising, icy water? (And if so, will anyone say, “Curses, foiled again?”)

And if you want to give me an Easter present, leave me a comment – on whatever chapter(s) you read – and let me know what you think, good or bad. This is a first draft, and “Beta tester” input helps a lot as I think about revision!

Sidenote: I’m a little amazed that it’s been five months since I’ve done anything with this story. (Well – that’s not quite true. I’ve been doing a lot of writing in my head.) I’m also amazed at how long it’s getting; it’s sitting at 128 pages, 251 if I format for paperback. (Kind of a silly way to measure it, I suppose, but I’ve always found page counts satisfying.) And there’s quite a bit still left to write – I’d say we’re probably another 20k words or so shy of the end, if not more!

Leave a Reply

