Aston Martin, anyone?

I like Mrs. Chili’s memes. And because it’s March, and the madness involved almost certainly relates to end of third quarter, and also the Ides thereof, and also the day after Daylights Savings… I have nothing substantial to say, and am instead resurrecting my week-abandoned blog with a meme.

1. Are you currently in a serious relationship?
Does married to my best friend count? Because I am seriously in that relationship.

2. What was your dream growing up?
See, I was in my underwear, and… oh, that’s not what you meant? I wanted to build my own boarding school, live in a mansion with turrets, and be a helicopter-flying storm-chasing paleontologist with 3-5 children. And some really kick-butt cars. Did I mention that I also thought I might be James Bond when I grew up?

3. What talent do you wish you had?
I wish I was a really talented singer, or good at a sport, or able to focus on one writing project at a time.

4. If someone bought you a drink, what would it be?
In a bar? Depends entirely upon the company and situation. If I’m eating, I’d have a rocks margarita. If I want something weak and tasty, I’d have a midori sour. And if I’m trying to impress somebody, it’d be Crown (or, on a full stomach, Knob Creek) on the rocks. But since I’m in bars, oh, never, my most truthful answer would probably have to be a Coke or a peach iced tea.

5. What was the last book you read?
The last book I managed to finish was Summer Knight by Jim Butcher. I’m currently midway or better through three others: The Conquest of New Spain, First Darling of the Morning, and Where Girls Come First: The Rise, Fall, and Surprising Revival of Girls’ Schools.

6. What zodiac sign are you?
Sagittarius, or Ophiuchus if you use sidereal astrology. Also: Metal Monkey.

7. Any tattoos and/or piercings? Explain where.
Single piercing in each ear. I went back and forth about getting a second ear piercing, or maybe a single cartilage (ear-cuff), but never did. No tattoos. Page me when they figure out how to do 3-year duration tattoos, and then we’ll talk.

8. Worst habit?
Laziness about housekeeping.

9. What is your favorite sport?
I like to watch football and basketball of the college variety.

10. Do you have a pessimistic or optimistic attitude?
I’m an idealistic realist.

11. Worst thing to ever happen to you?
Hmm. I guess some could quibble about whether this happened to ME, but I’d have to say Dad getting laid off at the same time I was married. It’s been a rough ride for my family ever since, and while I don’t know if they know it, it weighs heavily on me. I was always pretty optimistic about “everything working out for the best” until then. I have a bit clearer view of the world now, and I don’t like it very much.

12. Tell one weird fact about you.
I’m good at backwards things. I can do the alphabet backwards, write backwards (and upside-down, and upside-down-and-backwards) about as quickly and neatly as right-way around, read backwards (and upside-down), turn sheet music upside down and still play it, skip, walk, and gallop backwards, and… uh, yeah, that’s about all that’s coming to mind. In middle school, I used to hang upside down from things (stage stairs, etc.) and read while holding the book right-side-up. This seemed to frighten adults, which was, after all, my goal.

13. Do you think clowns are cute or scary?
Cute clowns are cute; scary clowns are scary.

14. If you could change one thing about how you look, what would it be?
I won’t say weight, because that’s within my power. I guess in my mind, I’m a more willowy version of myself. A few inches taller, a longer, more angular face, more cooperative hair. I never know what to do with my hair. And that version of myself knows how to walk in heels without twisting her ankle, which would also be nice.

15. Would you be my crime partner or my conscience?
If it’s a fun prank, DEFINITELY crime partner. If it’s something mean, hurtful, illegal, or dangerous, conscience.

16. Ever been arrested?
No ma’am. Don’t intend to, either. In fact, I was 29 before I got my first moving violation – and I maintain that it wasn’t my fault.

17. If you won $10,000 today, what would you do with it?
Oh gourds. I know EXACTLY what I’d do with a million, but 10k is tougher. I honestly would have to put it into a pair of used cars. We desperately need our own wheels.

18. Where’s your favorite place to hang out?
Away from home, you mean? My parents’ house. Barring that… probably a bookstore.

19. Do you believe in ghosts?
Sometimes. I definitely believe that there is something that causes phenomena that we attribute to ghosts; whether that’s telekinetic, magnetic vibrations, place-memory, lost spirits, divine messages – I don’t know.

20. Favorite thing to do in your spare time?
Dream up crazy schemes that will never come to fruition, because the scheming is the fun part.

21. Do you swear a lot?
No. I’m a charter member of the “If I’m dropping a cuss word, you know I really mean it” club.

22. Biggest pet peeve?
Belligerent apathy and closed-mindedness, and people who don’t know the difference between “less” and “fewer.”

23. In one word, how would you describe yourself?
hunting

24. Do you appreciate romance?
Not sure how to answer this question. Yes? Except that I can get embarrassed by it pretty easily. I prefer sincerity and thoughtfulness to over-the-top gestures.

25. Do you believe in God?
I do. I’m currently confused as to God’s nature, but then again, if I wasn’t, wouldn’t that be the height of hubris?

One thought on “Aston Martin, anyone?

  1. I. Love. Your. Answers!

    “Idealistic pessimist.” Yes.

    “Less and fewer.” GAH!

    I once knew a woman (well, I didn’t really KNOW her – she was a customer at my bank) who could – and did – write upside down and backward. I was FASCINATED by that. If we ever meet in person, you’ll have to show off for me.

Leave a Reply

