New Eye on the World

I’ve been lusting after two techno-gadgets for the past, I dunno, forever. One is a Dell Mini Laptop for all my on-the-go novelling needs. I’ve been craving one ever since I first saw the little red Jolly Rancher of a computer and blogged about it a year and a half ago. The other is a new camera, something with a little more muscle than my much-loved and much-used Canon PowerShot SD1000 (a camera which, incidentally, I highly recommend). I’d just been wishing I had something that could shoot with some depth of field, something that could take beautiful portraits and pictures like the ones I see other people taking.

I wasn’t expecting Ryan () to give me a DSLR, though. But he did. It’s a fantastic camera (way smarter than I am, which means that I spend a lot of time making an idiot out of myself as I try to make it work. I feel like I need to take a class or read a book or something. I used to shoot a little on an SLR, but it’s been a long time and I’m r-u-s-t-y.) and way more than I had in mind, but he seems to think (misguided though he is) that I deserve it. It’s an Olympus EVOLT E-520 and we – the camera and I – are at the beginning of what I know will be a long and beautiful friendship.

It’s just that I have to figure out what the heck I’m doing first. And in the meantime, My Loyal Readers (all two of you!) will get to enjoy a hopefully increasingly-better stream of photographs, starting with one of my pensive puppy.

Paisley, being my nursemaid as I try to get my $4!t together after my accident

Leave a Reply

