Definitely Change I Can Believe In

change(Image h/t Fisk)

I heard so many negative reviews of Transformers: ROTF (which looks like it ought to stand for “rolling on the floor,” not “revenge of the fallen”) when it first came out. The one person who stood by his positive impression was my man Fisk, who gave it three enthusiastic thumbs up.

Then I read a review of the film that made good sense to me, not the least of which because it’s written by a gal with my same name:

The only thing I have to say to critics who panned this movie is:

When you go to an amusement park to ride the biggest and fastest roller coaster you can find; do you leave your seat saying to yourself, “Gee, yah, that sucked. It had no story what-so-ever. There was no depth! Wahhhhh.”

Ever since I read that, I’ve heard more and more positive reviews (if by “reviews” I mean “casual conversations overheard around town or glanced at online”). Not in the “great work of cinematic literature” sense, but definitely in the biggest-fastest-roller-coaster sense.

Money’s tight, so I haven’t gone to see it yet. I’ve been wanting to, though, if only for the crazy sound effects they use for the transformation process. Love it.

So, if anyone out there is actually reading this… have you seen the Transformers sequel? What did you think? Leave a comment and let me know.

Hungry Fisk

(Fisk evidently wishes his mallet would transform into a cookie.)

4 thoughts on “Definitely Change I Can Believe In

  1. I saw it last week with my brother. No one in the theater, and I was legitimately entertained for the entire time. Granted, there were trade offs – yeah there’s no story, yeah, Megan Fox is painful to watch. But I considered the 2 biggest reasons I hate movies:
    1) I don’t like the actors. If they don’t appeal to me, even the greatest lines are..meh.
    2) I’m not entertained – this means: i’m not scared, laughing, amused, awed, mentally gripped, etc.

    That being said, I like Shia LaBeouf and I was in a total action trance throughout the movie.

    My brother and I discussed this afterward. You have to bear in mind that most movie critics base their careers and reputation off of the ability to tell great movies from what gets pumped out every summer for a blockbuster. No self-respecting movie snob is going to say ROTF is gold. They *had* to hate this movie. It goes against their belief system. But I agree with the statement about rollers coasters: you don’t go to Michael Bays’ “I’ve got to one-up my last one/ giant action-machine kick-assery” and expect it to be Schindler’s List. You go for the ride.

    You should go.

  2. The criticisms I’ve heard of the movie have been the same — that there’s no story or plot or anything but … cars and trucks turning into robots. And since that doesn’t sound appealing to me at all in the least, it was enough to turn me off. I can stand action movies if there’s a decent story-line to it, but not just action for action’s sake. Just not my thing.

    All that, plus I’m saving my Movie Money for Harry Potter!! NEXT WEEK!! 😀

  3. I haven’t seen it (and planned not to…more on that later), but my 17-year-old brother-in-law gave it high marks. Okay, given he’s part of the target demographic, that’s not too surprising, but he usually has decent taste in movies.

    I’ve never been a big Michael Bay fan. His own description of his directing style, in the “Making of” featurette on The Island, sort of explains why. I tried to find a video on YouTube, but I didn’t find one, so I’ll do my best to explain it.

    Bay starts out describing a big freeway chase scene in the movie — you know, the kind where people can walk around on flatbed trailers that are going 75 miles per hour, then jump unscathed onto motorcycles that are driving alongside. He’s talking, forming words, and is fairly coherent, as in, “Then the barrels come rolling off the trailer and we see a car swerve to avoid them and it ends up skidding under the bed of the trailer…” But before long, Michael Bay does this: “Then, the trailer and two police cars collide and pwhushcrushCRASHt-t-t-t-trk-trk-trk-trk-krsh-crsh-gr-gr-gr-crrr-crr-crrr-b-b-b-b-b-crash-fwt-fwt-fwt..” His explanation has devolved into a two-minute-long mouth-made crash sound effect – the kind a four-year-old makes when crashing his trucks into each other.

    But you, and others, are right. What do you expect from Michael Bay? You will probably be entertained. We have been talking about going to Transformers 2 at the IMAX. That’s our favorite way to really get the “full effect” of these types of movies.

  4. bass drummer ALWAYS want their mallets to turn into cookies. It’s why I kept a candy bar in my harness (no, seriously, I set up the padding to hold a candy bar)

    My sister saw the sequel, and she LOVED. IT. Said it had a lot of great action, and that the ice cream truck is the “Jar Jar Binks of the Transfomers world”

    The highlight? Shia screaming like a little girl

    Her only “complaint” was the lots of “thrown in just because” bots

    She now has me searching for the new Optimus Prime transformer. Like the Bumblebee two years ago :rolls eyes:

Leave a Reply

