My Favorite Author, on Writing

Perhaps the most sensible thing I’ve read on the subject. I knew I liked this gal.

No one can advise you how to write a book. You either can or you can’t, and the only way is to find out. And the only way you can do that is, in my opinion, to acquire the necessary tools (typewriter, pen, pencil, or whatever you prefer to use; paper, a dictionary if you can’t spell – I can’t! – and so on) and then, sit down and start writing. There is no other way. Too many would-be writers seem to think one must wait for inspiration. But if I had, I’d never have written a line. – M.M. Kaye

I think this means that I need to take a Tylenol, stop whining about headaches and uncertainty about how to start my next chapter, and make myself write. Sigh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

