No Longer Enumerating Pre-Emergence Barnyard Fowl Ova

chick-hatching
image from
Tom Hallam via GIS

It seems like my job interview at LSMS was forever and ever and ever ago. In fact, I’m thinking that it was actually only on the 7th, which means less than a week has passed.

At first it was easy to put it out of my mind. But then I began to hear whisperings and rumblings (because nobody works a grapevine like a bunch of teachers). They were positive whisperings and rumblings, the kind of whisperings and rumblings that takes an ordinarily rational young woman like myself and reduces her to the sort of gal who spends every waking moment counting chickens. These chickens were not only not hatched, they weren’t even mine.

I was supposed to find out by 8:30 AM on Wednesday. By 2 PM today, I knew that I was going to be a seventh grade English teacher.

I haven’t done paperwork yet, due to some timing issues, but I’m scheduled for new teacher orientation Thursday and Friday. I’ve met the principal, however, and gotten a look inside the classrooms. I’m going to be teaching four classes of English 7 (writing) and one class of English 7 (literature) first semester; the lit class turns into a 6th grade keyboarding class in the spring. There’s another class in there that hasn’t been determined yet. I’m also – and I’m really excited about this – going to be advising student council. I know that student council at the middle school level is more emerging leadership than actual government, but I’m excited about the prospect of teaching some of the skills I’ve learned through membership in and advisement of student organizations.

The scariest/stupidest thing I did, in terms of counting those darn chickens, was thinking about a classroom. To me, one of the coolest things about teaching is having that space to yourself, that space to decorate and fill and make your own. I  knew it was a bad idea to get my head going that direction. Many first-year teachers share classrooms or travel from room to room with a book cart (hence “cart teacher”). Still, it was just too much fun NOT to think about.

Well… I have a classroom. (!!!) There was a slight confusion with the room number, and the room I’m currently assigned still has another teacher’s things in it, so I’m not 100% positive which room will be mine once I can officially begin moving in. (A, right now they’ve got me in rm 8… where are you?) Apparently the current inhabitant is changing subjects and moving to another wing of the building. I was able to wander around the school and take a look inside several classrooms. Mine is like most in that it doesn’t have a window or a computer projector, but it seems to be of average size and has a cozy feel to it. I am thinking about bookcases and trying to figure out how to arrange the room so that there is some division without making it crowded… but that’s all boring teacherblog stuff, so I’ll leave that for now.

Oh man, I am so excited that I’m not even sure how to put it into words. The end result of this is what has to be the most boring blog entry ever. 🙂

In closing: those chickens are hatching, and damn is it a satisfying sensation!

P.S. I haven’t updated my teaching blog in weeks (finished summer school teaching and fizzled out) but will likely start back up very soon (although I think I will post a near-mirror of this post today). Is anyone else sick of all the parentheses I’ve used in this entry? Anyway, if you would like to read that blog and don’t know the URL, get in touch and I will give it to you. I am not going to link to it directly as I am trying to keep it anonymous for professional reasons.

2 thoughts on “No Longer Enumerating Pre-Emergence Barnyard Fowl Ova

  1. Yay! I learned a lot of this when I was at school yesterday, but I didn’t want to tell you any of it and ruin the *official* notice of employment (and room assignment!). Currently, I’m assigned in room 11. I thought they’d put you in room 12, which is right next door (I feel compelled to explain that, since not all of our room numbers go in order), but 8 isn’t too far away. Actually, to be honest, 8 could also be right next door but I’d have no idea. I was in the portable last year, so I don’t know much about the inside of the school. 🙂

    Well, friend, it looks like we need to get in touch for carpooling! I’ll start officially next Wednesday (I know you’ll start working before that with training and such). Maybe email me with your phone number or something so we can work this out. We can talk autism all the way to school if you’d like. 🙂 I know I provided my email to be allowed to post this, but I don’t know if you can see that (it says that it won’t be published). Or, you can email me on facebook or myspace.

    Rad. Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

