Still Waiting

I am now playing phone tag with the asst. principal with whom I interviewed. I don’t know what that means. I know two things:

  1. She left her initial voice mail on my phone about one hour after speaking to my mentor teacher, who told her in no uncertain terms to hire me (big hug to you, Dianne)
  2. Angela, who teaches there, apparently spoke to someone and heard that it went well

I am excited, nervous, and aggravated that I didn’t get that initial phone call when it happened. I fear that I won’t get in touch with the AP before the weekend, which means even more time to sit around and wonder what she wanted to say.

All that being said, I feel pretty “zen” about this job. I am deeply excited about the prospect of teaching at LSMS. There was something about that school that felt good, y’know? I think it reminds me of my own middle school; the buildings are about the same age. I’m getting worked up about all the possibilities. Last night I had trouble falling asleep because my mind was decorating a classroom that may or may not even exist. (It sounds like the position is the result of student population growth, which may mean there isn’t an actual classroom for the eventual teacher.) I’m imagining how I can adapt successful activities to younger students, thinking about fun ways to teach the material… reading the (fifty-page!) curriculum…

So, if the AP is calling to offer me the job, I will be ecstatic.

And if not… I will be okay with that, too. Now that July (AKA “Month of Teacher Job Hunt Hell”) is over, I have faith that things will work out for the best. There are rumors of additional openings at MSD high schools. Maybe more will open up in the BSD. Something will turn up.

That being said, I would prefer the former. 🙂 There is a weight on my mind these days that has become so constant and so heavy that I almost forget it is there, until I imagine what it would feel like to have it removed. That is going to be a good day!

I pulled out all the stops for this interview. I dressed up more than strictly necessary (aqua dress suit) and brought in two copies of a full “executive” packet:

  • my resume
  • color photocopies of the recommendation letters I had on hand (rec. letters usually go directly to a placement file, but most writers give a copy to the applicant anyway)
  • an unofficial copy of my current transcript
  • photocopy of my Praxis scores (only because they were remarkable)
  • photocopy of my technology certificate
  • CD of a digital work sample (I had previously wanted to make a website with this material, but ended up going less high-tech)
  • DVD of the student poetry slam I organized while student teaching
  • personal business card with contact information
  • all in a slick, heavy-duty folder

They complimented my suit and seemed impressed by the packets. Sometimes I am really glad that I have a (minimal) background in human resources – from what I pick up, so many prospective teachers don’t seem to understand good interviewing practice in the slightest.

The interview itself wasn’t my strongest, probably. It was at 8:30 AM, and I didn’t manage to fall asleep until probably 4 or so the night before. Then I had to get up at 6:30 to get ready and drive over. As a result, I wasn’t completely on my game and may not have answered some questions as precisely as I could have. (My favorite moment was when I tried to say “malicious” and came up with “malicient” instead – fortunately I caught it and we were able to laugh about it. The sad thing is, this isn’t even sleep deprivation – I try to say “malicient” all the time! I blame it on brain damage.) I had an ugly scab on my upper lip, thanks to a stupid cold sore the week before; it’s not like anyone would deliberately hold that against someone, but unconscious stuff can have an effect.

Eh. Whatever, right?

Anyway, I’ll let you know as soon as I know anything at all. 🙂

One thought on “Still Waiting

  1. Yes, do, I’m excited to find out as well. Hopefully you hear from her today.

    And I don’t have any sort of insider info, but I would caution you against getting tooooo excited about having a room of your own. The thing is, I don’t think they exist at this point. I could be wrong – I know that – but I also know rooms at LS are few and far between with new teachers especially. We have the largest student population of any middle school in the MSD and our principal is always trying to reconcile that.

    Anyway, good luck!

Leave a Reply

