Daily JPG 24

Okay, so how cool is this?

Nikki Giovanni came to Boise. ASBSU brought her here to speak at their annual MLK Celebration Week. Most of us never heard of Nikki Giovanni until she read her poem to the world in the aftermath of the Virginia Tech shootings. (Giovanni is an English professor at VA Tech.) I’d read some of her other poetry since, and was captivated by her powerful voice.

Well, she came, and Mom and I went, and it was so cool. She was bloody hilarious. I couldn’t even begin to give you a sense of how cool it was. (How many times can I say “cool” in one post?) She was flippant and fiery and had something to say. She read several of her poems, which absolutely made my night. And then she took questions, and she took mine – words of advice for my tenth graders as I try to help them find their voices and write their own poetry – and then she signed books, and now I have an autographed copy of her collected works. I’m a happy girl.

That’s why tonight’s Daily JPG is a sneakily-taken photograph of Dr. Giovanni at the podium. I would like to state, for my record mostly, that she wore an orange dress shirt, lavender tie, vividly purple slacks, with red leather shoes and bag.

24

Incidentally, there is some SERIOUS snow going on here. Worst I think I’ve ever seen in it in Boise. In fact, it’s so bad that one of two things is going to happen in the morning:

  1. It will take Ry and I two hours to make our twenty minute commute to the schools OR
  2. Public schools will be canceled in Boise for the first time in well over a decade.

Leave a Reply

