Daily JPG 12

I’ve jumped ahead to JPG 12, from JPG 7. I decided that I wanted to be able to keep track of it based on the day in the year – y’know? So that, if I keep this up, on December 31 I’ll post JPG 365. I’m going to go back and fill in those 5 blanks soon; on this blog they’ll show up on the correct date, but I am cross-posting this on a blog that won’t let me backdate, so they’ll be out of order. Oh well. 🙂 No one ever said this was going to be a professionally managed project.

12

Today’s Daily JPG is a picture of Ryan’s two architectural birthday cakes. Ryan’s favorite flavor – really the only flavor he’ll eat – is “pink cake.” I decided to use my new cake pan to make him a PRETTY PINK PRINCESS CAKE. It was strawberry cheesecake flavored cake with cherry chips and a strawberry icing glaze, surrounded by chocolate rocks. The doors and windows are outlined (badly) with pink glitter gel icing.

Then I got to thinking about the fact that there were eight people going to be there with a pretty small cake, and that a PRETTY PINK PRINCESS CAKE might not be the ultimate in manly birthday menu items. That’s about the point in time when I found a football stadium cake pan at Walmart on sale for $7. I’d been eyeing it for a while, at various stores, so when I found it on sale I immediately hatched a plan. The stadium is a peanut butter cake with chocolate chips in it, drizzled in Reese’s ice cream topping. The field is made of colored frosting and sugar sprinkles (which look EXACTLY like turf), and the spectators are candy-coated chocolate-covered sunflower seeds. It’s a special game scheduled for Ryan’s birthday: Boise State vs. Borah High School. The white section is the band. I made goalposts out of yellow paperclips. The stadium lights are yellow lollipops, and the field logo is an old patch I had in my craft things.

Leave a Reply

