Book Meme

I’m stealing this little book meme from Bewitched by Books, a very fun and informative blog. If you steal it in turn, leave a comment so I can come read your answers!

Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror? Any of these three can be really great or really dismal. If I had to pick only one, it’d be fantasy – particularly magical realism.

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback? Hardbacks for keeping, trade paperbacks for reading. Mass market paperbacks are overpriced for their quality, if you ask me, and not all that convenient except if you want to stick it in a pocket or something. Trade paperbacks are such a lovely size, and the quality of paper used is so much nicer!

Amazon or Brick and Mortar? I much prefer holding a book in my hands and reading a few pages first, but you can’t argue with the convenience and prices of Amazon. It’s kind of a matter of the situation, I think.

Barnes & Noble or Borders? Our B&N has a better selection and bargain books section, but our Borders has a better vibe (now that it’s been remodeled). I have a B&N membership, though, so that gets me good discounts.

Hitchhiker or Discworld? Hitchhiker, although I have meant a hundred times to start the Discworld series. It bugs me not to start with the first one, though, and I can’t figure out what that would be! I love the Hitchhiker books, gotta admit.

Bookmark or Dogear? Yes. I’ll admit to it. If I don’t have a bookmark handy, and it’s just a mass-market paperback, I’ll dogear. With the exception of fine books, which are to be handled with kid gloves, books are organic (and mortal) objects… I do prefer a bookmark, though.

Asimov’s Science Fiction or Fantasy & Science Fiction? I’ve read and collected both; I think I probably have more of the latter, though. All from the 70s. Good stuff. 🙂

Alphabetize by author, Alphabetize by title, or random? Separate by “hardcover and trade paperback,” “Mass market,” and “fine/antique/leatherbound,” then alphabetize by author last name, sub-ordered by title except in cases of series.

Keep, Throw Away or Sell? This site is called Book Dragon for a reason, and it’s not because I’m a raging fantasy geek (although that may also be true). I hoard books like they’re worth their weight in gold. It’s a disease, I’m telling you.

Keep dust-jacket or toss it? I used to hate, remove, and lose dust jackets. Then I found out how much they were worth. Now I keep them, although not always on the book, if it’s a particularly beautiful cover underneath.

Read with dustjacket or remove it? If they’re slipping off I’ll remove them. If not, I’ll keep them on. I also have to confess that I’ve been known to use the flap of the dust jacket as a bookmark if I’m near enough either end of the book not to bend it completely out of shape.

Short story or novel? Novels. Short stories are good when they’re good, but if I’m going for shorter works I generally prefer essays.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Harry Potter. I’m not too proud to say that these are pretty darn good books, and certainly addictive. I’m not opposed to Snicket but I haven’t had the occasion to read them as of yet.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? Or, y’know, keep reading until you collapse…. I try to get to the end of the chapter, or at least to a logical stopping point. Otherwise, it’s hard to know where I left off the next time I open the book.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time?” The latter. I’m a big fairy tale nut.

Buy or Borrow? I would like to borrow more, but I end up paying the book’s cost in late fees because I basically fail at due dates. So… I buy. But I buy used/discount copies whenever possible.

Buying choice: Book Reviews, Recommendation or Browse? Oh, definitely browse. It’s like a treasure hunt.

Lewis or Tolkien? Yes, but each in their own time. You have to be in the mood for either of them.

Collection (short stories by the same author) or Anthology (short stories by different authors)? Collections, if it’s a good author. Anthology, if I don’t ever intend to finish reading it.

Tidy ending or Cliffhanger? The writer/English major in me admires messy endings, but the fairy tale loving idealist in me wants happy endings every time…

Morning reading, Afternoon reading or Nighttime reading? I guess I do most of my reading in the evenings/night, or when traveling, but I’d read all the time if I could.

Standalone or Series? The only bad thing about series is that you have to wait for the next book to be published, if it’s a new series. That, and you’re with the characters so long that when the series ends it’s doubly traumatic. Really, I like both.

New or used? Yes, please. So long as it’s in decent shape and not overly abused. Interesting notations are welcome, though. 🙂

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? Oh, goodness. I couldn’t even begin to say… maybe The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye?

Top 5 favorite genre books of all time? It’s utterly impossible for me to pick favorite books. Some that come to mind but which may or may not be real favorites include The Far Pavilions, The Stand, Anne of Green Gables, Centennial, and… uh… er… oh, heck. I don’t know. I love so many books!

Favorite genre series? Once upon a time I was very much into the Xanth books. I can’t really think of any series I’ve read since that elicited that kind of readerly ferver, although I am also extraordinarily fond of Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire and Shakespeare books, as well as Katie MacAlister’s Aisling Grey series.

Currently Reading? Fire (Sebastian Junger), Return to Treasure Island and the Search for Captain Kidd (Barry Clifford), Tess of the d’Urbervilles (online) (Thomas Hardy), and Women Who Run with the Wolves (Clarissa Pinkola Estes).

9 thoughts on “Book Meme

  1. re “Alphabetize by author, Alphabetize by title, or random?”:

    I started to order my books by colours – looks very nice on the shelf 🙂

    cheers from germany,
    tulibri

  2. Love this. But it’s a curse as well, since now I feel I have to take it on, and I AGONIZE over this kind of stuff.

    Clara

  3. I love this meme. It’s great to get to know fellow bloggers better! The Stand is one of my all-time favorites as well!

    Thomas Hardy is another favorite, although I have never read Tess.

  4. I’m an English major too! :o) And I too admire crazy, messy endings but I’m not sure I actually “like” them. LOL

  5. i tend to shelve by Warburg’s law of good neighbours… it makes sense to put Gaiman and Pratchett on the same shelf, which means that Tolkein logically goes on the shelf about, and Jack Whyte and Guy Gavriel Kay on the shelf beneath… lragely intuitive. but i know where everything is.

    (you’ll have to tell me what you think of Women who Run with the Wolves. i’m trying to decide if i should give it another try.)

Leave a Reply

