In Which We Get Paisley a Present

Last Wednesday was Paisley’s first birthday, which put me in PetCo in search of some sort of appropriate puppy birthday gift. If you’ve got a PetCo in your area, and if your PetCo is anything like my PetCo, then you’re probably familiar with the shelter cat station right inside the front door. You walk in, and there’s a wall of homeless cats in kennels. Well, on Wednesday, there was a cat there that caught my eye. Two days, several hours of discussion, and a few changes of heart later, Sophie moved in.

Sophie’s a tiny girl. They say she’s two years old, and I guess I believe them, but she’s so small that sometimes I wonder. when she went into the shelter she had a litter of four kittens, all of whom got adopted. The shelter spayed her, so she doesn’t have to go through that again. Sophie is a flame-point Siamese: cream colored with apricot mask, ears, etc..

We did the whole “gradual introduction” thing, and it seems to be going pretty well. d’Artagnan was unamused at first, but he’s moved from upset to apathetic so we have confidence that he’ll eventually come to like her. Paisley loves her (Sophie is moderately tolerant of Paisley).

The hardest thing, for me, is that Sophie is not as affectionate as I would have hoped. She’s very happy to see us when we come to see her, but she doesn’t seek us out on her own. She doesn’t sit with us or get on the bed at night; she just hangs out on top of the kitty condo. I know that girl cats are often more aloof, but I occasionally have moments where I wonder if we made the right choice. I want her to be happy, and I want d’Artagnan and Paisley to be happy… it’s weird having a cat in the house that I can totally forget is there.

Anyway, I took some pictures in the past few days… thought I’d share. A couple of them have “lolcat” captions a la I Can Has Cheezburger?, an internet phenomenon and one of my favorite webcomics.

Leave a Reply

